LibGuides: Medical Assisting: Databases & Journals

Library Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
THE go-to database for nursing & allied health resources both at the trade and scholarly levels. CINAHL stands for Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource covers a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Designed for nursing and allied health students with up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Includes more than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Similar to CINAHL, but with some additional articles included. Also features AHFS Drug Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets with many brand names.

Other sources of free access to research information and articles:

PubMed: THE INDEX (with limited full text) to medical and allied health content in MANY languages. Ask for help when you use PUBMED. There are MANY techniques to limit content.
Pub Med Central: A Free Archive of Life Sciences Journals Taxpayer dollars and the good will of publishers make this source of full text articles happen. The materials available here come in many languages.

MedLinePlus.gov Great information across a large span of materials. Includes videos and tutorials.

Follow the link below to find print and electronic popular, trade, and scholarly journals and magazines available at the STCC Library.