Health Information Management

Founded in 1928 to improve health record quality, AHIMA has played a leadership role in the effective management of health data and medical records. AHIMA is committed to advancing the HIM profession in an increasingly electronic and global environment through leadership in advocacy, education, certification, and lifelong learning.

The AHA leads, represents and serves hospitals, health systems and other related organizations. Their website includes information about AHA policy research.

This website includes links to applicable laws, regulations and guidelines including those related to medical records obligations, information about physician license renewal, etc. in Massachusetts.

CPT codes are used to report medical procedures and services under public and private health insurance programs.

An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 19,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States.

The official publication of the American Health Information Management Association. "It delivers best practices in health information management and keeps readers current on emerging issues that affect the accuracy, timeliness, privacy, and security of patient health information." The current issue is available online, as well as some information about past issues.

Information from the Electronic Privacy Information Center.

The international committee working on interoperability of health information.

Find information about the HIPAA Rules, guidance on compliance, OCR's enforcement activities, frequently asked questions, and more.

America's Health Rankings provides an annual analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis and ranking of the healthiest and least healthy states.

The American Hospital Directory provides data and statistics about more than 6,000 hospitals nationwide.

This is a guide created as a starting point for locating health statistics, primarily in North America. Most sources are freely available online, although some are limited to patrons of Loma Linda University's library.

This guide highlights health data available at the state, federal and international level related to health care and health administration. Primary sources are the Federal Government and international agencies. A few resources on this guide are only available to the Boston College community.

"Health, United States" annual reports document changes in the nation’s health, as well the emergence of new threats to public health. The reports provide a picture of the health of the nation across four subject areas: health status and determinants, health care utilization, health care resources, and health expenditures and payers.

State-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation and budgets.

The National Center for Health Statistics is the nation's principal health statistics agency. They compile statistical information with the goal of guiding actions and policies to improve people's health.

CMS collects and reports data related to Medicare and Medicaid. Many data collections are free downloads. Information is available on providers, cost limits, and cost reports.

Provides summary and detailed tables of health insurance data from U.S. Census Bureau statistics. Includes full-text reports and working papers.

Government-sponsored Web site featuring journal articles (some free); surgery videos, tutorials, a medical encyclopedia, drug and supplement information, etc. Very rich site.

Free access to the latest edition.

Free access to the latest edition.

Explains disorders, symptoms, and provides information about diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and prognosis.

The Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP) is devoted entirely to medication error prevention and safe medication use.

A continuously updated collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources, produced for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.