Skip to main content

RSCH 100 -- Introduction to Basic Research: Home

This guide is intended for use by students in RSCH-100, Introduction to Basic Research at Springfield Technical Community College

Introduction

Research has changed significantly in recent years. This course will teach students how to find and evaluate information using both traditional resources and technological methods and materials. It will provide opportunities to explore the literature and information sources in specific programs or areas of academic interest. Information sources to be explored will include dictionaries, encyclopedias, online catalogs, indexes, databases, and the Internet. Students will learn to analyze information needs, to construct search strategies, and to access and evaluate resources. Students will also become familiar with legal and ethical considerations of modern technology applications.

 

No pre-requisite.

 

LEARNING ACTIVITIES: lectures, lab exercises, audiovisual presentations, group discussions, problem solving/critical analysis assignments, database and Internet explorations.

 

COURSE REQUIREMENTS:

 

·         Completion of all assignments

·         2 to 3 quizzes

·         Final Exam

Suggested Texts

There are no required texts for this class. However, it is recommended that each student have a good modern dictionary, such as the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 11th edition.

In addition, the following books could prove useful:

World Almanac 2014

Badke, William B. Research Strategies: Finding Your Way Through the Information Fog. 4th ed.

Bloomington: iUniverse.com, 2011. Print.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed.New York: MLA, 2009. Print.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed.

Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 2010. Print.

Additional Information

 

GRADING:

 

Attendance and participation: 20%

Quizzes: 20%

Assignments: 20%

Bibliography: 20%

Final Exam: 20%

 

COURSE OBJECTIVES:

 

·         Students will understand how information is organized

·         Students will recognize different levels, types, and formats of information

·         Students will understand various search strategies

·         Students will be able to demonstrate that they can define their information needs and use the appropriate resource

·         Students will understand the criteria used to evaluate information for its content, source quality, and relevance

·         Students will understand the importance of using information ethically

 

ATTENDANCE AND STUDENT CONDUCT

 

Class will begin at the specified hour. Tardiness impacts an entire class. Please respect your classmates and arrive on time. Habitual tardiness will result in a lowering of the final grade. More than 2 unexcused absences may result in failure of the course. There are instances when students may be absent through no fault of their own. It is the responsibility of the student to give the instructor advanced notice if possible prior to known absences and make up missed assignments.

 

Students are expected to conduct themselves in a manner that is consistent with the policies outlined in the College Catalog. Respect and consideration for others contributes to a positive environment for learning in the classroom. Both faculty and students should encourage CIVILITY by speaking and listening respectfully to others. In addition, actions which disrupt the learning process should be avoided. For example, pagers, beepers, and chiming watches and CELL PHONES should be turned off during class.

 

CONTACTING INSTRUCTORS

 

This course is taught by reference librarians on the staff of the STCC Library. Should students need to contact an instructor, they may call 413-755-4555 or the library reference desk at 413-755-4549. Instructors are also available via e-mail (see above) or via Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/@rsch100. Conferences may be scheduled Mon – Fri between 8 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. Instructor(s) will also be available prior to class and after class for brief meetings.

Subject Guide

Eric Warren
Contact:
One Armory Sq.
Springfield, MA 01106