Be inspired by the life of your favorite artist or be introduced to someone new! Hover your mouse over the
icon for a synopsis of or more information about any of the sources listed here.
Beyond the Flower: The Autobiography of a Feminist Artist by
With the same intense intimacy and unabashed probing of issues of gender, power, and history that characterize her monumental works of art and made Through the Flower a classic in the literature of women and the arts, she asks hard questions about the role of art in our culture. Judy Chicago's contagious and affirmative energy suffuses Beyond the Flower, and this volume will excite and provoke dialogue among feminists, art lovers, and talented women rising through the ranks of any profession - or now taking stock of their lives.
Hanging Man by
The gripping story of post-Mao China and the harrowing fate of the artist and activist Ai Weiwei In October 2010, Ai Weiwei's Sunflower Seeds appeared in the Turbine Hall in the Tate Modern. In April 2011, he was arrested and held for more than two months in terrible conditions. The most famous living Chinese artist and activist, Weiwei is a figure of extraordinary talent, courage, and integrity. From the beginning of his career, he has spoken out against the world's most powerful totalitarian regime, in part by creating some of the most beautiful and mysterious artworks of our age, works which have touched millions around the world. Just after Ai Weiwei's release from illegal detention, Barnaby Martin flew to Beijing to interview him about his imprisonment and to learn more about what is really going on behind the scenes in the upper echelons of the Chinese Communist Party. Based on these interviews and Martin's own intimate connections with China,Hanging Man is an exploration of Weiwei's life, art, and activism and also a meditation on the creative process, and on the history of art in modern China. It is a rich picture of the man and his milieu, of what he is trying to communicate with his art, and of the growing campaign for democracy and accountability in China. It is a book about courage and hope found in the absence of freedom and justice.
Basquiat: A Quick Killing in Art by
Painter Jean-Michel Basquiat was the Jimi Hendrix of the art world: in less than a decade he went from being a teenage graffiti writer to an international art star; he was dead of a drug overdose at age twenty-seven. Phoebe Hoban's Basquiat, the first biography of this charismatic figure, charts the trajectory from the artist's troubled childhood to his volatile passage through the white art world of dealers and nouveau-riche collectors, chronicling the meteoric success and overnight burnout that made him an instant art-world myth. As much the portrait of an era as the portrait of an artist, Basquiat is an incisive expose of the eighties art market that paints a vivid picture of the rise and fall of the graffiti movement, the East Village art scene, and the out-of-control auction houses.
Anselm Kiefer by
One of the most critically acclaimed and influential artists working today, Anselm Kiefer (b1945) has played a major role in shaping the landscape of post-war German and, indeed, international art. Kiefer's vision encompasses philosophy, history, literature, politics and compelling moral issues ranging from intimate books that explore German identity to monumental public sculpture installations. Conceptually, Kiefer urges the viewer to challenge received narratives about war, identity, religion, morality, memory and history. Visually, his art is suffused with a sense of epic melancholy. Kiefer's longstanding leitmotivs have included the earth, the stars, architecture and alchemical symbols that evoke themes of devastation, metamorphosis and renewal.
Joan Mitchell: Lady Painter: A Life by
"Gee, Joan, if only you were French and male and dead." New York art dealer to Joan Mitchell, the 1950s. She was a steel heiress from the Midwest--Chicago and Lake Forest (her grandfather built Chicago's bridges and worked for Andrew Carnegie). She was a daughter of the American Revolution, Anglo-Saxon, Republican, Episcopalian. She was tough, disciplined, courageous, dazzling, and went up against the masculine art world at its most entrenched, made her way in it, and disproved their notion that women couldn't paint.
Romare Bearden by
A full-length biographical and critical study of Romare Bearden, one of America's best-known collagists. It includes conversations between the author and artist as well as reminiscences by the artist's friends, family and colleagues.
Goya by
With his salient passion for the artist and the art, Hughes brings Goya vividly to life through dazzling analysis of a vast breadth of his work. Building upon the historical evidence that exists, Hughes tracks Goya's development, as man and artist, without missing a beat, from the early works commissioned by the Church, through his long, productive, and tempestuous career at court, to the darkly sinister and cryptic work he did at the end of his life. In a work that is at once interpretive biography and cultural epic, Hughes grounds Goya firmly in the context of his time, taking us on a wild romp through Spanish history; from the brutality and easy violence of street life to the fiery terrors of the Holy Inquisition to the grave realities of war, Hughes shows us in vibrant detail the cultural forces that shaped Goya's work.
Aaron Douglas by
Aaron Douglas (1899-1979) is the leading visual artist of the Harlem Renaissance, the first African-American to explore modernism and to reflect African art in his paintings, murals, and illustrations. His work is a vivid record both of his achievement and of the distinctive imprint of the Harlem Renaissance upon American culture. This exploration of Douglas's life and career is filled with reproductions of his art. From previously unavailable source materials, including letters to his wife, Amy Kirschke traces the struggle of this fascinating artist to advance the Harlem Renaissance and to establish its particular imprint.
That's the Way I See It by
Published to great critical acclaim in 1993, That's the Way I See It, the second volume in David Hockney's impassioned autobiography, is now available in a handsome paperback edition. Hailed by Artforum as "direct, engaging, and unpretentiously intelligent" and by the Washington Post as "the year's most engaging art book . . . quirky, opinonated and very visual," That's the Way I See It offers a revealing look at one of our most popular artists. In this tour de force, over 350 reproductions of Hockney's paintings, graphic designs, and experimental work are closely interwoven with the artist's insightful and highly personal narrative. Accessible, articulate, and always ahead of their time, Hockney's compostions and reflections offer a fascinationg look at a uniquely talented artist.
The Life of Isamu Noguchi: Journey Without Borders by
Isamu Noguchi, born in Los Angeles as the illegitimate son of an American mother and a Japanese poet father, was one of the most prolific yet enigmatic figures in the history of twentieth-century American art. Throughout his life, Noguchi (1904-1988) grappled with the ambiguity of his identity as an artist caught up in two cultures. His personal struggles--as well as his many personal triumphs--are vividly chronicled in The Life of Isamu Noguchi, the first full-length biography of this remarkable artist. Published in connection with the centennial of the artist's birth, the book draws on Noguchi's letters, his reminiscences, and interviews with his friends and colleagues to cast new light on his youth, his creativity, and his relationships. During his sixty-year career, there was hardly a genre that Noguchi failed to explore. He produced more than 2,500 works of sculpture, designed furniture, lamps, and stage sets, created dramatic public gardens all over the world, and pioneered the development of environmental art.
Cezanne by
With brisk intellect, rich documentation, and eighty-eight color and fifty-two black-and-white illustrations, Danchev tells the story of an artist who was originally considered a madman, a barbarian, and a sociopath. Beginning with the unsettled teenager in Aix, Danchev takes us through the trials of a painter who believed that art must be an expression of temperament but was tormented by self-doubt, who was rejected by the Salon for forty years, who sold nothing outside his immediate circle until his thirties, who had a family that he kept secret from his father until his forties, who had his first exhibition at the age of fifty-six--but who fiercely maintained his revolutionary beliefs. Danchev shows us how the beliefs Cézanne held and the life he led became the obsession and inspiration of artists, writers, poets, and philosophers from Henri Matisse and Pablo Picasso to Samuel Beckett and Allen Ginsberg.
Itō Jakuchū, The Paroquet, ca. 1900. Polychrome woodblock print. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
STCC Library Discovery Search
Find articles, books, and eBooks...
___________________________________________
Book Search
 |
Find books from STCC & partner HELM libraries. |
___________________________________________
eBook Search
Search 60,000+ eBooks geared for the community college student.
___________________________________________
Databases
Databases hold articles, films & eBooks for easy search and retrieval.
|
Most Popular Databases:
|
New & Trial Databases:
|
|
|
Chronicle of Higher Education (Featured) GlobalData Explorer aka MarketLine (Featured) Peterson's Test Prep (NEW) O*NET OnLine Career Database (NEW) New Additions (NEW)
|
___________________________________________
___________________________________________
Streaming Video
Films on Demand | View a helpful video Using Films on Demand.
Kanopy | 'How-to' access documentation. (2023 version)
___________________________________________
Not sure where to start? Try browsing the stacks. You might find something you know and love, or you might find something totally new! The stacks are organized by call number, and each call number range represents a particular subject. This means that books on the same topic will be located in the same general area.
Books on art, art history, architecture, and design are located in the N call number range in the 2nd floor stacks.
How Art Can Be Thought by 
Colliding Worlds by 
ArtSpeak by 
Starting Your Career as an Artist by 
Learning to Look by 
The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists by Be inspired by artists' own writings about art, art theory, criticism, and the art world. Most of these books are primary sources. The dates in parentheses refer to the original publication date of the source.
Vision in Motion (1947) by 
The New Landscape in Art and Science (1956) by 
In My View: Personal Reflections on Art by Today's Leading Artists by 
Portraits: Talking with Artists at the Met, the Modern, the Louvre, and Elsewhere by 
33 Artists in 3 Acts by Discovery is our library's version of Google. It searches all the STCC Library's research databases for scholarly articles covering all disciplines. Search any topic by keyword (not by asking a question). Example: gun control.
Using Discovery Search (how-to video) | Can't find what you're looking for? Try InterLibrary loan.