Skip to main content

Science and Engineering: Databases

Accessing the Databases

When accessing the databases from home or off campus, you will be prompted to sign in.

When prompted to sign in:

Library Card # - the barcode number on the back of your RamCard

Password - hold the SHIFT key and enter your last name

If you have trouble signing in, you may need to register your RamCard at the STCC Library's Circulation Desk.

AccessScience

Online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, with current articles and breaking science news such as research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, plus definitions and biographies of scientists.

Science in Context

Contextual information on hundreds of contemporary science topics. Combines reference content with full-text magazine articles, journals, news articles, images, videos, and even science experiments.

Science.gov

Science dot gov Logo and Link

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Mitchell1 Auto Repair

Mitchell1 OnDemand is the web version of Mitchell's automobile repair and estimating software.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Database Logo and Link

Nearly fifty titles covering the areas of agriculture, horticulture, farming, and landscape design.

PLoS

The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. PLoS has published its own journals, including PLoS One, PLoS Biology and PLoS Medicine, and a suite of community-focused journals including PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Pathogens.