Find articles
The following databases may be useful to you to find articles about African American history:
African American History Online. Provides in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
American History Online. Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social and cultural history, highlighing the important people and events of the American experience.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
American National Biography. Use this database to get information about the life and accomplishments of individuals who have "influenced and shaped American history and culture". To be included in this database the individual must be deceased.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
Master File Premier (EBSCOHost). This multidisciplinary provides full text for general reference publications covering many subject areas. The database includes full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
American Women's History Online Use this collection of historical and biographical reference books on America's women.
On Campus Link | Off Campus Link
Credo Reference (On Campus | Off Campus) Access to more than 350 reference titles, including collections of quotations, encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and atlases in all major subjects. Definitions rule!
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History (On Campus | Off Campus) Online version of the five-volume set and supplement covering the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. More than 2,300 articles covering the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Biography Resource Center: African Americans (On Campus | Off Campus) Articles from encyclopedias, magazines, journals, and newspapers about famous African Americans.
The Harriets (Jacobs, Tubman, Beecher Stowe)
Reference books on African American history
Use reference books for concepts, vocabulary and bibliography!
Africana : the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience 2nd ed. - Kwame Anthony Appiah, Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Call Number: DT14.A37435 2005 REF
More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic.The African American Encyclopedia 2nd ed.
Call Number: E 185 .A253 2001 REF
Brief articles concerning many aspects of African American life, history and culture.Chronology of African American History: From 1492 to the Present 2nd ed.
Call Number: E 185 .H64 1997 REF
Year by year descriptions of significant historical and cultural events in African American history.Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights : From Emancipation to the Present - Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek
Call Number: E 185.61 .E54 1992
This encyclopedia covers a wide array of events, legislation, court decisions, cultural achievements, speeches, organizations, and personalities that have contributed to the cause of African-American civil rights.African American Lives - Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham.
Call Number: E 185.96 .A446 2004 REF
Features portraits of some six hundred noteworthy African Americans representing a wide variety of fields of endeavor. Subjects of biographies include slaves and abolitionists, writers, politicians, artists, business leaders, musicians, performers, athletes, journalists, and other historical figures.African-American Atlas : Black History and Culture-An Illustrated Reference - Molefi K. Asante and Mark T. Mattson
Call Number: E185 .A79 1998 REF
Presents a history from African origins to the social and economic realities of the 20th century, and profiles key individualsAtlas of African-American History - James Ciment
Call Number: E185 .C55 2001 REF
Text, maps, and illustrations introduce African cultures and trace African American history from the slave trade through the Civil War, emancipation, the early twentieth century, and the civil rights movement to the present.Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History - Jack Salzman, David Lionel Smith, Cornel West
Call Number: E185 .E54 1996 REF
Produced by the Center for American Culture Studies at Columbia University, this set attempts to cover "all aspects of the African-American experience." Two-thirds of the entries are biographies, with the remainder dealing with events, historical eras, cultural achievements, and places.The New York Public Library African American Desk Reference
Call Number: E185 .N57 1999 REF
Presents a timeline of African-American history and identifies important people and events.
Harriet Jacobs on Youtube

Loading Video Clip...
Useful Web Sites
- African American World . Timeline | PBS PBS takes us from slavery through the beginning of the 21st century. It examines how, for over 500 years, people of African descent have shaped the course of American history. Explore the African American experience with this extensive timeline of African American history.
- AFRO-Americ@: The Black History Museum -- Interactive Exhibits Lots of links to useful content on the African American experience. Levels vary.
- Pioneer African American Women Nurses A collection of links to Web sites on African American nurses in history.
- Slavery & Abolition in the US Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s is a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century.
- The Black Past: Remembered and Reclaimed This web site on African American history, developed by Professor Quintard Taylor, includes an online encyclopedia, biographies, and primary sources including speeches and photographs.
- Museum of African American History Boston - Welcome History of the African American experience in Boston and Nantucket.
- Oh Freedom Over Me A program of American Radio Works on the "Freedom Summer" of 1964.
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.
- The African-American Mosaic Exhibition (Library of Congress) A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of African American history & culture. There are sections on colonization, abolition, migration, and the WPA.
- African American History Month (Library of Congress) From the Library of Congress, primary sources and exhibition guides to LC collections on African American history. Includes links to Library of Congress collections, audio files, videos, text and images.
Web Sites

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait