Open Educational Resources (OER)

Information and resources on Open Educational Resources (OER) available to faculty & students free of cost.

OER at STCC

Have Questions?

Contact the STCC OER librarian and we will be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Chelsea Contrada
Email: cacontrada@stcc.edu
Phone: (413)755-5634

Open Image Resources

Open Image Resources

Creative Commons Search
Allows you to search for images available online under a Creative Commons license.

Flickr
Images available through Flickr published under a Creative Commons license.

Getty Open Content Images
Getty Museum and Research Institute collection of over 85,000 images available for download and use.

New York Public Library Digital Collection
Over 800,000 free and open images digitized from the New York Public Library's collections.

Shared Shelf Commons
A free, open access library of images shared with the public by participating institutions.

U.S. Government Photos & Images
A collection of U.S. Government photos & images from different agencies. Note: "Some of these photos are in the public domain or U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license or copyright. You should read the disclaimers on each site before using these images."

Wellcome Images
Provides access to the Wellcome Library's collection of online images. Most are free to use, while others are available for paid licensing. 

Wikimedia Commons
Over 14 million contributed media files -- free to use. Use the Community Portal to learn more about uploading and using files.

Open Simulation Resources

PhET Interactive Simulations
Interactive math and science simulations from the University of Colorado Boulder

Open Video Resources

Open Video Resources

Moving Image Archive
Digital movies ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.

OER Commons: Video Lecture Search
Over 6,000 video lectures available through OER Commons.

Open Video Project
A shared digital video collection browsable by genre.

Wikimedia Commons: Video
Video section of the free media repository Wikimedia Commons.

Yale Open Courses: YouTube Channel
Yale Open Course lecture videos available on YouTube. 

Open Sound Resources

freesound
Free sound clips available online.

OER Commons: Audio Lecture Search
Over 1,000 audio lectures available through OER Commons.

Public Domain Sounds - Free Sound Library
Online repository of sounds / sound clips in the public domain.

Wikimedia Commons: Sound
Sound section of the free media repository Wikimedia Commons.