Open Educational Resources (OER)

Information and resources on Open Educational Resources (OER) available to faculty & students free of cost.

Citing OER

OER Advocacy

Advocacy

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
A consortium of over 200 colleges "expanding access to education by promoting awareness and adoption of Open Educational Resources (OER)."

Open Education Consortium 
A "worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education."

Open Washington
Managed by the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges, this site provides a short OER workshop, a list of OER resources, an OER attribution builder, and OER success stories.

SPARC: Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition
"SPARC is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to create a more open system of scholarly communications."

OER at STCC

Have Questions?

Contact the STCC OER librarian and we will be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Chelsea Contrada
Email: cacontrada@stcc.edu
Phone: (413)755-5634

New OER Resources

UNESCO-UNEVOC Open Educational Resources in TVET

UNESCO and UNEVOC have created a new list of Open Educational Resources for Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET). This list provides notes on the availability of TVET resources within various open resource platforms. 


BC Campus Open Education Self-Publishing Guide

If you've ever thought about creating your own textbook, you may not know where to start. Thankfully there's new tool to guide you from BCcampus.

From the site: "The BCcampus Open Education Self-Publishing Guide is a practical reference for writing and publishing an open textbook. This guide provides details on the preparation, planning, writing, and publishing of an open textbook as well as the importance of copy editing and proofreading. Copyright, open copyright licenses, and the differences between citation and attribution are discussed."

Not ready to write your own? Check out the BCcampus Open Textbook Adoption Guide.

Search for OER

Mason OER Metafinder

This new search tool created by George Mason University and Deep Web Technologies aggregates resources from 15 different OER sites, offering a "one-stop searchbox for Open and Affordable Educational Resources."

Search Mason OER Metafinder

Other OER Search Engines:

Curriki 
"A global community of sharing curriculum and best practices."

FREE: Federal Resources for Educational Excellence 
A site maintained by the federal government that "contains links to learning resources created and maintained by other public and private organizations."

Google University Learning 
Google's custom search for collected OER websites.

Internet Archive - Open Education Resources 
The Internet Archive's "library of Open Educational Resources and university lectures, " which "contains hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China."

MERLOT: Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching 
"A free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community."

OER Commons - Advanced Search 
An advanced search function within OER Commons that allows users to find open access materials/resources.

TEMOA 
A global knowledge hub that uses a public and multilingual catalog of OER.

Zunia OER 
Zunia Knowledge Exchanges' search engine for collected OERs.

OER Courses & Curricula

Courses & Curricula

Carnegie Melon Open Learning Initiative 
The site "offers online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach." Instructors may use courses for their own credit granting courses.

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) 
MIT OCW allows anyone free online access to the teaching materials of over 2,200 course in almost all of MIT's subjects.

Open Education Consortium 
A collection of over 25,000 OCWs from different institutions made available to instructors to be copied, distributed, edited, remixed, and/or built upon under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.

Open Course Library 
"A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download."

OpenCurriculum 
"A place to create, access and share K-12 learning material."

Open Yale Courses 
"Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University."

Saylor Academy 
A website of open courses that can be reused and remixed for teaching purposes with attribution.

OER Textbooks & Materials

Textbooks & Materials

Textbooks available for free or at a more affordable cost for students can be found at any of the websites below. While some open textbooks are only available electronically, some site offer printed texts at a material cost.

Start by exploring these three repositories:

OpenStax College
Open Textbook Library
SUNY Open Textbooks

More open textbook search options below:

AcademicPub 
ALG Top 100 Course Textbooks
Bookboon 
College Open Textbooks 
OER Commons: Open Textbooks 
OpenStax CNX 
Student PIRGs: Open Textbooks 
Textbook Media 
Textbook Revolution 
The Global Text Project 
zyBooks

OER Toolkits

Toolkits

Toolkits will help you with the creation and management of your OER projects by helping you easily save resources/materials during the organization of a course.

Blended Learning Toolkit 
MERLOT: Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching
OER Commons 
WikiEducator

Course Management Systems

Course Management Systems can be used to distribute OERs and materials for a course to students.

STCC Blackboard
Canvas
Google Classroom

OER Assessment Tools

Learningpod

Targeted practice questions for student success. Create exercises for students with the ability to track student progress and provide feedback to questions.